Women’s Rugby League World Cup: When is it, who’s playing and how to watch?

The Women’s Rugby League World Cup gets underway in November, with Australia hoping to defend the title they won in England back in 2013.

MORE: Rugby League World Cup top try-scorers | Should we suspend the NRL for an annual series between Tonga and New Zealand?

Six teams will battle it out over two and half weeks from Thursday, November 16.

A double-header alongside the Men’s final on December 2 will crown the winner.



Australia: The reigning champion Jillaroos will be doing everything they can to retain the trophy.

England: Ranked third in the world, the Lionesses will be hoping to improve on their pool stage exit in 2013.

Cook Islands: The Moana are back in the World Cup for the first time since their only other appearance in 2005.


New Zealand: The Kiwi Ferns are the most decorated team in international women’s league, taking home three world cups.

Papua New Guinea: The PNG Orchids are competing in their first women’s world cup.

Canada: Another country on the big stage for the first time, the Ravens will be hoping to shock one of the favourites.


The teams have been split into two pools and will play three triple-headers on the 16th, 19th and 22nd of November.

All pool games will be played at Southern Cross Group Stadium in Cronulla, Sydney.

Women’s Rugby League World Cup – Pool Stage
Game 1 – 1:45pm Game 2 – 4:00pm Game 3 – 6:30pm
16/11 New Zealand vs. Canada Australia vs. Cook Islands England vs. Papua New Guinea
19/11 Australia vs. England New Zealand vs. Cook Islands Papua New Guinea vs. Canada
22/11 England vs. Cook Islands Australia vs. Canada New Zealand vs. Papua New Guinea

Knockout stage

The semi-finals will be a double-header on November 26th, again at Southern Cross Group Stadium.

Pool B’s winner will take on the runner-up in Pool A at 1:45pm, while Pool A’s winner will take on the runner-up of Pool B at 4pm.

The final of the tournament will be played as a double-header with the Men’s RLWC final at Brisbane Stadium at 3:45pm on Saturday December 2.

How can I watch?


Go to the games!

An adult ticket to any of the match days at Southern Cross Group Stadium costs just $10 while kids under 16 and concession card holders can get in for free.

Tickets can be purchased here for November 16, November 19, November 22 and November 26.

To catch the women’s final, fans will have to purchase a ticket for the whole day at Brisbane Stadium, with adult tickets starting at $70.


All 12 games will be broadcast live across Australia on Channel 7 and 7Mate.

Sky Sport and EMTV will show the matches live in New Zealand and Papua New Guinea respectively.


This year’s will be the fifth edition of the Women’s Rugby League World Cup.

England hosted the first back in 2000, with New Zealand taking out the tournament.

The Kiwi Ferns backed that up with wins in 2005 and 2008 before the Aussies broke their stranglehold in 2013, defeating New Zealand 22-12 in the final.

Source: sportingnews.com