ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

2019 ICC Cricket World Cup

Cardiff Wales Stadium will host some of the best players as it holds four matches in the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup.

The tournament will run from 30 May to 14 July in England and Wales, with the 10 teams playing against each other in a single-league format, with the top four sides after 45 matches to qualify for the two semi-finals.

Matches at Cardiff Wales Stadium

Cardiff will welcome, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, England, Bangladesh, South Africa and World Cup Qualifier Champions Afghanistan.

1 June – New Zealand v Sri Lanka

4 June – Afghanistan v Sri Lanka

8 June – England v Bangladesh

15 June – South Africa v Afghanistan

Being the third most-watched global sporting event, Glamorgan Chief Executive, Hugh Morris, said:

“It’s incredibly exciting for us to hold four of these fixtures in Wales next year and I would encourage everyone who wants to be involved in this prestigious tournament to enter the Public Ballot so they don’t miss out on watching thrilling cricket played by the best players on the planet right here in Cardiff.”

Welsh Government Minister for Culture Sport and Tourism, Lord Elis-Thomas, said:

“I’m delighted that the Welsh Government has been able to support Cardiff and Glamorgan County Cricket Club in bringing the ICC Cricket World Cup to Wales again and we look forward to working with partners on delivering an outstanding experience for spectators and players over the summer.”

Staying in Cardiff

Whether you’re looking for a luxurious hotel such as our friends at The Vale Resort or a cosy B&B, Cardiff has plenty of choice. With many great options available only a short walk from the city centre, Sophia Gardens and Cardiff Central train station, you’re never far from the action.

Find out more at Visit Cardiff here, or explore more of Wales at Visit Wales here.

Public Ballot 

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Public Ballot opened on Wednesday, 1 August, when ticket applications were opened to all members of the public, backed by a major marketing and PR campaign, welcomingly called Are you in?.

The Public Ballot will be open until 29 August and fans will be able to apply for each of the 48 fixtures, with tickets in each price band at every game available.

Enter the ballot here: